Karl Richard Hansen, MD, PhD


     Professor, 2017-present
     Chair, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, 2014-present
     Medical Director, IVF Program, 2007-14
     Medical Director, OU Physicians Reproductive Medicine, 2004-2014
     Chief, Section of Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, 2004-2015

Specialty areas

     Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility


     Oklahoma 1997-present

Board Certification

     Obstetrics and Gynecology, 2006-present
     Reproductive Endocrinology & Infertility, 2007-present


     MD/PD Fellowship, University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, Oklahoma City, OK, 1990-1997
     Doctor of Philosophy, Microbiology and Immunology, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences
     Center, 1995          
     MD degree from University of Oklahoma College of Medicine, Oklahoma City, OK, 1997
     Residency in Obstetrics and Gynecology at University of Oklahoma Medical Center, 1997-2001
     Fellowship in Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility, University of Washington, 2001-2004
     Clinical Research/Reproductive Scientist Training Program (CREST) sponsored by the American
     Society for Reproductive Medicine, NICHD, and Duke University, 2008-2009   

Areas of Clinical Interest

     Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility
     Assisted Reproductive Technologies, including IVF
     Polycystic ovarian syndrome
     Reproductive surgery

Research Interests

     Reproductive aging
     Ovarian reserve testing
     Polycystic ovarian syndrome
     Unexplained infertility


     American Gynecological and Obstetrical Society (AGOS)
     Society for Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility (SREI)
     Society of Assisted Reproductive Technology (SART)
     American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM)
     Alpha Omega Alpha
     ASRM Practice Committee

Awards/Honors (selected)

     Best Doctors in America, 2008-present
     Medical Student Faculty Teaching Award, University of Oklahoma Department of Obstetrics and
     Gynecology, 2004-present   
     Castle Connolly Top Doctors, 2015-present
     Alpha Omega Alpha, elected 1995
     OU Medicine Award for Outstanding Patient Service, 2011, 2012, 2013
     CREOG Award (presented by OB/GYN residents to the faculty member with the highest teaching 
     Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) Excellence in Teaching Award,
     University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center, 2005