Graduating Students Earn Awards at Senior Banquet

By April Wilkerson
Writer, OU College of Medicine

Two days before members of the Class of 2016 graduated, they were honored with awards for excellence during the Senior Banquet.

Class of 2016 medical student Brett Gudgel is presented The Dean’s Award at the Senior Banquet by Executive Dean Dewayne Andrews, M.D.

The primary awards presented were:

  • The student with the highest academic ranking in the class is recognized as The Dr. Lewis J. Moorman Scholar.  Achieving this distinction requires not only outstanding intellect, but also enormous commitment and effort.  This year’s award was presented to Chance Nichols.

  • The Dean’s Award is given annually to recognize the graduate who best exemplifies those principles that characterize the qualities of an outstanding physician; one who has shown through all aspects of the educational process sympathy and kindly understanding, humanitarian concern, willingness to share professional accomplishments, social consciousness, leadership, involvement with peers, academic achievement, clinical proficiency and an enthusiastic acquisition of skills.  The Dean’s Award was presented to Brett Gudgel.

  • The G. Rainey Williams Scholar Award was established to honor Dr. Williams, a superior teacher, a gifted surgeon and researcher and a distinguished and committed faculty leader. The award is given to the senior student who demonstrates humane qualities, academic excellence, scholarly concern for patients and colleagues, and most nearly approaches the ideal physician-patient relationship. The 2016 winner was Lauren Bull.

Class of 2016 medical student Dhara K. Sheth receives The Fred G. Silva Medical Leadership Award from Executive Dean Dewayne Andrews, M.D., during the Senior Banquet.

  • The Dr. R. McKinley Williams Award recognizes a senior student for scholarly activity and for best promoting kindly concern for patients and colleagues. This year’s recipient was Jack Andrews.

  • The Dr. Fred G. Silva Medical Leadership Award was established in 2000 to honor the contributions of Dr. Silva, a former chairman of the Department of Pathology. The award is given to a graduate who displays the professional qualities and leadership skills that promote the understanding of the role of medicine in today’s society. This year’s recipient was Dhara Sheth.

  • The Nancy K. Hall Community Service and Leadership Award was named in honor of former faculty member and associate dean Dr. Nancy Hall, whose commitment and involvement with both the community and the college spanned decades. The award goes to the student who has shown meaningful involvement with community-oriented organizations and activities and has demonstrated outstanding leadership in community services among peers. This year’s award was presented to Lily Ryzhkova.

  • The Arnold P. Gold Foundation and the Healthcare Foundation of New Jersey established The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards Program. The program is designed to recognize excellence in compassionate patient care and scientific achievement. Students were asked to nominate a colleague who has demonstrated excellence in promoting scholarship, has encouraged high standards of character and integrity, and has displayed commitment to compassionate care of the patient and to the art and science of medical practice. This year’s recipient was Ganga Moorthy