About the Department

The OU College of Medicine (OUCOM) Department of Neurology has 6 academic sections encompassing expertise in 13 patient care services (= subspecialties).  We are a campus and world-wide leader in the effective implementation of innovative educational programs for medical students and resident physicians.  We have an active clinical research program in many different subspecialty areas.  We provide patient care in 5 outpatient (clinic) locations and 4 inpatient (hospital) locations.  OUCOM Department of Neurology faculty members serve as leaders for the following unique clinical programs:

  • OU Medical System Epilepsy Center—the only Level IV Center in Oklahoma designated by NAEC (National Association of Epilepsy Centers)—including an 8-bed epilepsy monitoring unit for adults and children
  • OU Medical System Comprehensive Stroke Center—one of only three Comprehensive Stroke Centers in Oklahoma designated by The Joint Commission—including a 10-bed Acute Stroke Unit and 10-bed Neurosciences Intensive Care Unit.
  • OU Child Neurology—the largest child neurology service in the state, serving OU Children’s Physicians, The Children’s Hospital at OUMC, and The Children’s Center Rehabilitation Hospital in Bethany
  • Neuro-oncology—the only academic neuro-oncology program in the state and part of the OU Peggy and Charles Stephenson Cancer Center (SCC).

In our continued quest for excellence, we plan to continue faculty recruitment to improve clinic patient access and research productivity.