David Lee Gordon, MD, FAAN, FANA, FAHA

Professor & Chair

Kathryn G. & Doss Owen Lynn, M.D., Chair in Neurology

Chief, Section of Vascular & Critical Care Neurology
Director, Clinical Medical Students Education
Director, Clinical Clerkship (Oklahoma City Campus)

Chief, OU Medical System Neurosciences Service




Duke University, Durham, NC (bachelor’s degree)

University of Miami School of Medicine, Miami, FL (MD)

St. Luke’s Roosevelt Hospital Center, New York, NY (internal medicine internship)

Mt. Sinai Medical Center, New York, NY (neurology residency)

University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics, Iowa City, IA (stroke fellowship)



OU Physicians Building

825 NE 10th Street, 5th floor (5B)

Oklahoma City, OK 73104

Telephone 405-271-3635

Fax 405-271-2523

Board Certification:

          American Board of Psychiatry & Neurology (Adult Neurology)

          American Board of Psychiatry & Neurology (Vascular Neurology)

Patient Care Service(s):

           Stroke & Cerebrovascular Diseases

           Headache & Migraine



920 Stanton L. Young Boulevard, Suite 2040

Oklahoma City, OK 73104-5036

Telephone 405-271-4113
Fax 405-271-5723

Curriculum Vitae:  GordonDL_CV

Academic Section:  ​Inpatient Neurology

Research Interests:

          Non-headache manifestations of migraine

          Hypercoagulability and stroke in young adults

          Optimizing hospital and community systems for stroke care

          Outcomes-based education of health professionals

Select Honors & Accomplishments:

          Best Doctors in America®

          Castle Connolly Regional Top Doctor®

          Consumers’ Research Council of America Top Physician

          FAAN (Fellow of American Academy of Neurology)

          FANA (Fellow of American Neurological Association)

          FAHA (Fellow of American Heart Association)

          Lead author of Advanced Stroke Life Support (ASLS®)

          Mississippi Outstanding Physician Award 1999

          University of Mississippi School of Medicine Carl G. Evers Society Clinical Science All-Star 1999

          University of Mississippi Medical Center Neurology Residents Teacher of the Year 1999

          American Heart Association Meritorious Achievement Award 2000

          University of Miami School of Medicine Teaching Award 2003

          University of Miami Miller School of Medicine George Paff Award for Excellence in Teaching   

          OU Neurology Residents Award for Outstanding Attending 2009

          OU College of Medicine Stanton L. Young Master Teacher Award 2011

          OU College of Medicine Aesculapian Award for Excellence in Teaching Clinical Sciences 2012

          OU College of Medicine Academy of Teaching Scholars Inductee 2012

          OU College of Medicine Dewayne Andrews Excellence in Teaching Award 2014

          American Academy of Neurology Clerkship Directors Teaching Award 2014

          OU Medicine Award for Outstanding Patient Service 2014, 2015
          American Neurological Association Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award 2016