College of Medicine Logo
Gold Humanism Honor Society

The Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS), sponsored by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, honors senior medical students, residents, role-model physician teachers, and others for "demonstrated excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion, and dedication to service". Inspiration for this society began in the late 1990s as a way of recognizing and promoting humanistic attributes in medical students. Students are selected for this society by their peers for demonstrating exemplary respect for human beings through the practice and teaching of medicine.

New Gold Logo (2)
More information about this initiative can be found at: 
Arnold P. Gold Foundation: Gold Humanism Honor Society

The founding meeting of the Gold Humanism Honor Society of the University of Oklahoma, College of Medicine was held in Oklahoma City on August 29, 2005.  Dr. Dewayne Andrews, MD, Executive Dean of the College of Medicine from 2002-2017 presided. Dr. Jerry Vannatta, MD, gave a brief history of the national movement by the Gold Foundation to the attendees.  Dr. Gerard Clancy, Dean of the Tulsa campus of the OU College of Medicine gave the address, entitled “Assertive Humanism”.


Dewayne M. Andrews, MD

Mary Zoe Baker, MD Robert Block, MD.
Shea Bowling, MD Joseph Clifton Broome, MD
Gerard Clancy, MD G. Kevin Donovan, MD
Stacy Elfrink, MD Linda Machado, MD
Son H. Nguyen, MD Betty Pefferbaum, MD
George M. Selby, MD M. Boyd Shook, MD
William M. Tierney, MD Jerry B. Vannatta, MD

Dr. Jerry B. Vannatta, MD
, John Flack Burton Professor of Humanities in Medicine, David Ross Boyd Professor of Medicine, was selected as the first Chapter Advisor and was given the charge of organizing the first chapter project, and organization of the first round of nominations from students, residents, and faculty, as well as the practicing community.  Dr. Vannatta served as Chapter Advisor until 2015.

Dr. William M. Tierney, MD
, David Ross Boyd Professor of Medicine and one of the founding members of the Honor Society, became the Chapter Advisor in 2015. In 2003, Dr. Tierney was the recipient of the Tow Humanism in Medicine Award and in 2013 was elected into the Gold Humanism Honor Society in recognition for his exemplary service, integrity, clinical excellence and compassion by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation and the University of Oklahoma, College of Medicine.