In September of 1984 the Department of Surgery hosted the first G. Rainey Williams Surgical Symposium to honor Dr. G. Rainey Williams for 25 years as a faculty member and 10 years as Chairman of the Department of Surgery.

A number of colleagues and former residents felt an appropriate way to commemorate Rainey Williams' 25 years of leadership was with the founding of a permanent association of those who worked with him to build the surgical tradition at the University of Oklahoma. The University of Oklahoma Surgical Society was founded in September 1984 with G. Rainey Williams, M.D. and John A. Schilling, M.D. as founding members and 98 charter members. Jay P. Cannon, M.D., of Oklahoma City was the first President; Jack T. Dancer, M.D., of Vinita, Oklahoma was the first Vice President; and M. Alex Jacocks, M.D. was elected as the first Secretary-Treasurer and continues to date in this office.

The University of Oklahoma Surgical Society perpetuates surgical excellence at the University of Oklahoma and binds together those who have helped develop and continue the outstanding program. Through the efforts of this organization there has been continued support for the G. Rainey Williams Surgical Symposia which are held biennially. A stipend from the Society is awarded annually to the outstanding surgical research paper presented at the Resident Research Forum. Former residents, faculty and friends are welcomed each year at a reception at the fall meeting of the American College of Surgeons, and University of Oklahoma Surgical Society members meet to discuss the business of the Society during a breakfast meeting held during the Symposium.

The University of Oklahoma Surgical Society was also instrumental in establishing the G. Rainey Williams Research Professorship with a large donation from the Society and considerable support from Dr. Schilling and Dr. Williams and other members of the Society. The Professorship was established to enhance the opportunity for residents in the Department of Surgery to conduct meaningful research and to provide resources for educational activities. Dr. Larry R. Pennington is the current G. Rainey Williams Research Professor.

Over the years an informal Newsletter has been published and plans for a membership directory are ongoing.

Residents who have successfully completed their General Surgery training are invited to join as full members. Associate membership is available to individuals who have spent one or more years in training under the aegis of the Department of Surgery at the University of Oklahoma and to current and former faculty. Membership dues are $50.00 annually or $500 Lifetime membership.