Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Logo
VA logo

The Setting

This consortium internship program is offered through the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences on the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center campus, located at 920 Stanton L. Young Blvd., Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.  Consortium agencies include OU Medical Center, Children's Hospital of Oklahoma and its affiliated clinics and, Veteran's Affairs Medical Center.  All consortium agencies are located together in a large medical complex.  The internship first began in 1961 and received APA approval in 1962.  It has been continually accredited since 1962.

The Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences has approximately 64 faculty members, including approximately 11 psychiatrists, 50 psychologists, and 3 psychiatric social workers. In addition, there are other supporting staff, such as psychometrists and psychiatric nurses. Faculty members from other academic departments also teach or provide supervision. There are approximately 21 psychologists in the Department of Pediatrics. All psychologists are on campus and most in full time positions. All together, there are approximately 61 on site psychologists participating in our training programs.

The department tries to offer all students, whether they be psychology interns, psychiatric residents, or medical students, repeated and intense exposure to all the disciplines in the mental health field; thus, the interns will receive most of their supervision from psychologists, as well as some supervision from psychiatrists and social workers.