Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Logo
VA logo

The Setting

The Clinical Neuropsychology Residency Consortium is offered through the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center (OUHSC) Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, and the Oklahoma City Veterans Health Care System (OKC VA HCS). The program is accredited by APA as a Consortium. While program coordination is housed primarily in the Department of Psychiatry, it is administered collaboratively between the OUHSC and the OKC VA.  The OUHSC Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences the OKC VA, and affiliated training agencies are located together in a large medical complex.  The affiliated training agencies include OU Medical Center, Children's Hospital and its clinics, Williams Pavilion, the Child Study Center, and Veteran's Affairs Medical Center.

The Psychology Training Faculty (PTF) are a diverse group of licensed psychologists employed by the OUHSC Department of Psychiatry, the Oklahoma City VA HCS, and/or the OUHSC Department of Pediatrics. All of the PTF from the affiliate agencies are appointed as Volunteer Clinical faculty and work in multiple training programs.  Approximately 68 full-time psychologists belong to the PTF.  The residents work closely with other medical and allied health professionals in each setting.

In addition to the Clinical Neuropsychology Residency, the educational programs of the department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences include a neuropsychology residency, psychiatric residency, a predoctoral Clinical Psychology internship, a pediatric psychiatry fellowship, and undergraduate medical education. The department offers all students, whether they be psychology residents, psychiatric residents, or medical students, many opportunities and interactions with other professionals in mental health service and other interdisciplinary providers across all settings.